Enable Flash content in posts

Any forums that you would like to see added, or changes to this site, post here.
Also forum announcements may appear here from time to time.

Enable Flash content in posts

Postby warwound » 20 Mar 2009, 09:21

Hi.

I was just wondering if Flash content could be enabled for user posts.

My plan was to upload a small Flash panorama in the Tripod forum, something like this.

I had a little Google and found the phpBB documentation page (scroll down to General options) which explains how it can be enabled in user's PMs but that's probably not the setting to enable it in forum posts.

It could be that a phpBB mod needs to be installed to enable it...

Martin.
User avatar
warwound
 
Posts: 378
Joined: 08 Jul 2007, 02:42
Location: Norfolk, UK

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby old-git » 20 Mar 2009, 13:51

It is enabled! :?
I uploaded this .swf to photobucket, right click on it, select loop, right click on it again, select play :-D




Code used
Code: Select all
[flash=200,200]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v480/old-git/gezbaloon.swf[/flash]
mustn't grumble
User avatar
old-git
 
Posts: 2386
Joined: 03 Oct 2004, 02:03
Location: Kings Lynn

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby warwound » 20 Mar 2009, 21:09

Well i just copy/pasted the following code into a reply to a thread i started in the Tripod forum:

Code: Select all
[flash=320,240]http://martinpearman.co.uk/deleteme/panoman019.swf[/flash]


And then previewed the new post...

You cannot use certain BBCodes: [flash]. is displayed instead of a preview of the post :( .

Also viewing this thread takes my PC's CPU usage to nearly 100% and i need to use Task Manager to kill Firefox :( .

Maybe only admins have permission to use the flash bb code?

Martin.
User avatar
warwound
 
Posts: 378
Joined: 08 Jul 2007, 02:42
Location: Norfolk, UK

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby old-git » 20 Mar 2009, 22:07

Yes I get the same problem with FireFox, even to the point I had to restart due to a total freeze up. :(
It seems to work in IE OK though. If Flash was turned off on this board the button for it would not appear in the posting dialog.
I tried posting the files on another phpbb and got the same result. :(
Seems to me it is bad Flash plug-in behaviour in FireFox. :smt102
mustn't grumble
User avatar
old-git
 
Posts: 2386
Joined: 03 Oct 2004, 02:03
Location: Kings Lynn

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby warwound » 20 Mar 2009, 22:47

old-git wrote:Yes I get the same problem with FireFox, even to the point I had to restart due to a total freeze up. :(
It seems to work in IE OK though. If Flash was turned off on this board the button for it would not appear in the posting dialog.
I tried posting the files on another phpbb and got the same result. :(
Seems to me it is bad Flash plug-in behaviour in FireFox. :smt102


Check out this screengrab of my reply to this thread - [flash] is off :(

Image

Posted with IE6 and CPU usage is still pretty high but not as bad as Firefox.

Martin.
User avatar
warwound
 
Posts: 378
Joined: 08 Jul 2007, 02:42
Location: Norfolk, UK

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby admin » 20 Mar 2009, 23:04

Flash is now enabled, please give it a try.
When posting flash please realise that flash objects do not run automatically buy default, it is preferred this way for security.
The two panning files have been removed from the above post as for some reason (as yet unknown) they were running on load. This could be the reason FireFox is crashing. Since this happened on another php board it may be a problem with the files. By all means try posting the file again singularly in another thread to see if this fixes the problem.
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 01 Oct 2004, 04:14
Location: Kings Lynn

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby old-git » 21 Mar 2009, 00:25

Oops, :oops: Hope I didn't crash to many computers. Sorry about that warwound, I often forget I have extra buttons. :smt062 :smt011
mustn't grumble
User avatar
old-git
 
Posts: 2386
Joined: 03 Oct 2004, 02:03
Location: Kings Lynn

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby warwound » 21 Mar 2009, 00:50

Thanks for enabling the flash bbCode then :).

The problem with my flash files and CPU usage seems to be related to the HTML code that phpBB is generating.

This page contains the code that this forum's phpBB generates:
http://martinpearman.co.uk/deleteme/flash_phpbb.htm
(If you click that link be prepared for your browser to take CPU usage to a maximum!).
The HTML is:
Code: Select all
<div>
   <object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab#version=5,0,0,0" width="320" height="240">
      <param name="movie" value="http://martinpearman.co.uk/deleteme/panoman019.swf" />
      <param name="play" value="false" />
      <param name="loop" value="false" />
      <param name="quality" value="high" />
      <param name="allowScriptAccess" value="never" />
      <param name="allowNetworking" value="internal" />
      <embed src="http://martinpearman.co.uk/deleteme/panoman019.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" width="320" height="240" play="false" loop="false" quality="high" allowscriptaccess="never" allownetworking="internal"></embed>
   </object>
</div>


This page uses the code that is generated by pano2vr - that's the program that converts an image to flash format:
http://martinpearman.co.uk/deleteme/flash_pano2vr.htm
(This link should be safe to click).
And the HTML for this page is:
Code: Select all
<div>
   <object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" width="320" height="240" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,0">
      <param name="movie" value="http://martinpearman.co.uk/deleteme/panoman019.swf" />
      <param name="quality" value="high" />
      <param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF" />
      <embed type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="320" height="240" src="http://martinpearman.co.uk/deleteme/panoman019.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#FFFFFF" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"></embed>
   </object>
</div>


Flash version 5 must be quite old by now - even version 8 is old.
The latest version being version 10.0.22.87.

Martin.
User avatar
warwound
 
Posts: 378
Joined: 08 Jul 2007, 02:42
Location: Norfolk, UK

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby old-git » 22 Mar 2009, 17:45

I don't know whats going on WW. :?
I uninstalled Flash 10 from my pc and went back to Flash 9.0.47r and the file works fine, when uploaded as an in-line attachment. phpBB is still generating flash 5.0.0.0.
Hope you don't mind me uploading it WW. Just trying to get to the bottom.

Anyone using Flash 10 will just see a white box below. Be interesting to see if anyone else can see a full colour panning pic below, or what do you see?
panoman019.swf

It may have something to do with the 'Play true/false' handle?
Or it could be that it runs OK because it's on the local server?

I'm using FireFox, I.Explorer does not want to go back to 9.0.47r
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
mustn't grumble
User avatar
old-git
 
Posts: 2386
Joined: 03 Oct 2004, 02:03
Location: Kings Lynn

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby delbert » 22 Mar 2009, 17:59

magic.....full colour panning pic below :smt006
"go placidly amid the noise and haste"
User avatar
delbert
 
Posts: 2599
Joined: 30 Jan 2005, 15:47
Location: old lynn

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby old-git » 22 Mar 2009, 18:04

Thanks del, are you using Firefox or Internet Explorer and do you know the flash version you are using? You can tell the flash version by right clicking on the above file and it will state 'About adobe flash player No??'
mustn't grumble
User avatar
old-git
 
Posts: 2386
Joined: 03 Oct 2004, 02:03
Location: Kings Lynn

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby teddybear1959 » 22 Mar 2009, 18:16

I have flash 10 according to the little message I got. I can only see a white box.

The one thing I would like to know though, :? why do I get a funny noise like a constipated Elephant when I am on this page?

Teddy
:wink:
I am very interested in local history of mid-Norfolk and I have lots of connections to families in the Lynn area. http://www.norfolk-tours.co.uk/
User avatar
teddybear1959
 
Posts: 2689
Joined: 20 Apr 2006, 22:33
Location: Norfolk

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby old-git » 22 Mar 2009, 18:27

:lol: It's that first flash file teddy, it has sound.
mustn't grumble
User avatar
old-git
 
Posts: 2386
Joined: 03 Oct 2004, 02:03
Location: Kings Lynn

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby teddybear1959 » 22 Mar 2009, 20:25

:smt023
I am very interested in local history of mid-Norfolk and I have lots of connections to families in the Lynn area. http://www.norfolk-tours.co.uk/
User avatar
teddybear1959
 
Posts: 2689
Joined: 20 Apr 2006, 22:33
Location: Norfolk

Re: Enable Flash content in posts

Postby warwound » 23 Mar 2009, 07:20

I have Flash 10 and old-git's post shows just a white box.
Clicking the attachment link opens the panorama in a new Firefox window and it works fine but is massively oversized being full-screen in the browser window.

I've experimented and found that it is indeed the play attribute in the tags that is causing the problem with my panorama flash file.

I've modified the code generated by this forum's phpBB and found that the following code works for me using Flash 10 with Firefox:
(The code also works with IE6).

Code: Select all
<div>
   <object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab#version=5,0,0,0" width="320" height="240">
      <param name="movie" value="http://martinpearman.co.uk/deleteme/panoman019.swf" />
      <param name="loop" value="false" />
      <param name="quality" value="high" />
      <param name="allowScriptAccess" value="never" />
      <param name="allowNetworking" value="internal" />
      <embed src="http://martinpearman.co.uk/deleteme/panoman019.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" width="320" height="240" loop="false" quality="high" allowscriptaccess="never" allownetworking="internal"></embed>
   </object>
</div>


You can try yourself by visiting http://martinpearman.co.uk/deleteme/flash_phpbb_modded.htm.

I've removed nothing but the play attribute from both the object and the embed tags.

The object tag is used by Internet Explorer to create the webpage's Flash content and the embed tag used by other browsers such as Firefox to do the same task.
See: http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum104/659.htm

A search on Google to find out if the play attribute messes up other's panoarama flash content brought many irrelevant results so not much help.

A solution might be for the forum admin to create a new custom BBCode tag.
Exactly the same as the flash tag but omitting the play (and maybe also the loop) attribute.
My post could then use it:

Code: Select all
[panorama=320,240]http://martinpearman.co.uk/deleteme/panoman019.swf[/panorama]

Martin.
User avatar
warwound
 
Posts: 378
Joined: 08 Jul 2007, 02:42
Location: Norfolk, UK

Next

Return to Suggestions.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

chicks-infection
Weather
Terms of use.
 
Local Links
Trues Yard - Museum
Downham - Town Council
Swaffham - info
King's Lynn OnLine - Local news and info for King's Lynn
Hunstanton - Town Council
KLCC - King's Lynn and District Camera Club
H M Coastguard - Hunstanton 20
KLARC - King's Lynn Amateur Radio Club
klwnbug.co.uk - The Norfolk & Fens Cycling Campaign
Norfolk Mills - Historical and genealogical data
pe30.com - local info guide for Kings Lynn
NFHS - Norfolk Family History Society
Reffley - Community Association
Local Gov - West Norfolk
Norfolk Broads - The Broads authority
Burnham - info
RSPB - Sellect County
Dersingham - Parish Council
Local Link Suggestions?
.
.
.
.
.

 

cron

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group