St. Ann's Street

Interested in the history of the area or sharing memories or old photos from the local area? Post here.

St. Ann's Street

Postby Karen » 14 Jun 2007, 10:22

Hi folks
I am a former student of Dr. Paul Richards (BA at COWA) and have been browsing this section of the forum for a while now with avid interest.

Having done two local history research projects (for Paul) on the North End I am now embarking upon a third!

Paul is interested in 3-5 St. Ann's Street. Does anyone have any old pics of these two properties (Yes I know they are not architecturally stunning!) they are willing to share. I am also seeking info on 20th century inhabitants. Directories suggest:
Arthur Porter - Hairdresser (1957, 1969 and 1973) for No. 5.
Albert Edward Greeves - Boot Repairer (1957) also No. 5 (Poss. outbuildings)
Barron Bros. - Printers (1957) No. 3.
Charles Smith - Dairyman (1937)
Sarah Chase (1937)
Bertie Plumley (1957)
John Balls (1969)
L M Balls (1973)
Some of these later residents may still be alive or will have family members living locally so all information will be treated confidentially and with due respect.

Any information will be gratefully received either on the forum or by private e-mail and if anyone has knowledge of further residents please, please do let me know.

By the way is EEW the kind person who passed on a photo of Garland Yard (for my dissertation) to Andrew at True's Yard. If so thank you so much, it was very much appreciated.

I am happy to share my research findings on my previous projects if anyone is interested. I have researched inhabitants of True's Yard Museum buildings and also just completed a study of Pilot Street (1871 - 1941) for my dissertation.

A further area of interest is Childhood in the North End - this is an entirely separate project just for my own pleasure - but any info. pics etc. will be insightful and very much appreciated. I look forward to hearing from anyone with memories to share.